Search For:

Share This

Tips For Successful Aging

In its third year, the Kentucky Living Health Club four-month challenge has a highly engaged group of 75 members discussing how to age successfully as they share and support each other on our private Facebook group. (If you missed our November 2013 health feature, search for “Successful Aging” at We think you will find these KL Health Club posts valuable:

Organic vs. Natural? Although the USDA requires meat, poultry, and egg products that are labeled “Natural” to be minimally processed and contain no artificial ingredients, for many other products with the “Natural” label there is no universal standard for that claim. Part of a new campaign that highlights the benefits of organic food features a funny video that answers “What does ‘Natural’ really mean?” Watch it online at

Do you sit a lot? We are told that too much sitting is bad, but what happens when you sit for eight hours a day, the average for a U.S. adult? Download the infographic poster and learn what you can do to help if you do find yourself sitting for long spells. Locate the online link by searching for “The health hazards of sitting” by The Washington Post in your browser.

Are you sensitive to gluten? In the last few years, there has been a large increase in the number of people who have gluten sensitivity or intolerance, also known as celiac disease (a simple blood test can check for antibodies).

Gluten is a protein found in grains such as wheat, barley, and rye. Kentucky Living Health Club facilitator Lisa Capehart—also a certified wellness coach and exercise physiologist—breaks it down even further. Gluten is in “all varieties of wheat, including spelt, durum, semolina, graham, faro, emmer, triticale, and kamut. This also contains all forms of wheat, including whole grains, berries, germs, brans, flours, sprouted wheat, and fermented wheat. For barley it is all varieties and forms, including malt vinegars, malted milk drinks and candies, brown rice syrup made with rice malt, and beer. Rye products also contain gluten.”

What does not contain gluten? “Other grains such as amaranth, buckwheat, corn, Indiana rice grass, millet, oats, quinoa, rice, sorghum, and teff are okay. All meats and animal products, veggies, and fruits are gluten-free.”

Find gluten-free recipes at and

To learn more, go online to (click on “Celiac”) or to the Celiac Disease Foundation at

Don't Leave! Sign up for Kentucky Living updates ...

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.