Search For:

Share This

The return of ROARchestra

The Louisville Zoo and Louisville Orchestra are thrilled to announce the highly anticipated return of ROARchestra on Saturday, July 6 at the Louisville Zoo. Following a 15-year hiatus, this beloved family-friendly event combines the excitement of a visit to the Zoo with the soul-stirring sounds of the Louisville Orchestra, creating an unforgettable experience.

“Partnering with Louisville Orchestra to resurrect ROARchestra is super exciting! We are so grateful to Graham Parker and Teddy Abrams for their resourceful leadership and innovative spirit to give this amazing gift back to our community,” said Louisville Zoo Director Dan Maloney. “The return of the event is among the top requests our staff receives. ROARchestra is packed with nostalgia and our patrons have such fond memories of attending incredible live performances at the Zoo. We hope to help our guests create new, even more awesome memories in July with ROARchestra’s return and look forward to growing our partnership with the Louisville Orchestra.”

“We are excited to bring ROARchestra back to Louisville after 15 years,” said Graham Parker, Chief Executive of the Louisville Orchestra. “Ever since my arrival in Louisville, not a week will go by when someone asks if ROARchestra will ever be returning, so we are thrilled to say this year that we are. This event is a testament to the incredible partnership between the Louisville Orchestra and the Louisville Zoo, offering a truly unique experience that combines the beauty of wildlife with the power of live music.”

Doors open at 7 p.m. allowing guests to explore the Zoo or get settled in the Oasis Field. The concert, conducted by Teddy Abrams, begins at 8:30 p.m. under the stars. Abrams will be joined by guest vocalists Jason Clayborn and Daria Raymore with backup singers Teaira Dunn, CeCe Dunn, and Latiana Clayborn. The evening will be a blend of classical masterpieces with soulful pop hits. This unique fusion promises a lineup that will resonate with audiences of all tastes.

The concert will kick off with Leonard Bernstein’s energetic Three Dance Episodes from “On the Town,” setting the stage for an unforgettable musical journey. Audiences will then be immersed in the profound depths of Dvořák’s Symphony No. 9, a true masterpiece that will captivate and inspire.

Prepare to be moved by the soul-stirring renditions of timeless classics by legendary artists such as Aretha Franklin, Stevie Wonder, and Lionel Richie. The incredible vocalists will deliver powerful performances of hits like “Endless Love“ “It’s A Man’s World,” and “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough.” Their extraordinary talent will leave you in awe and have you singing along with them all night.

Get your tickets here.

Don't Leave! Sign up for Kentucky Living updates ...

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.